top of page
  • aestatamu

Survivor #2

Type of Aggie currently: Undergraduate

Classification/age at time: High school junior

Location of crime: Off-campus

Was the crime reported: No

Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "I didn't know it was rape"



"Homecoming in high school my junior year my date pressured me to have sex even though I would only agree if we had protection. We didn't have protection, and he kept doing it and pressuring me even though I was saying no, until I eventually said yes because he was visibly annoyed. I began to panic and started to cry, and he only stopped for that reason, but still made me finish. I didn't realize until just this year as a sophomore in college that what happened was a form of assault. The strange thing is, I don't think he even realized what he was doing was assault either. That somehow makes it so much harder. I still to this day have no real way of understanding it, or the fact that it wasn't the only time he did something coercive like that, it was just the first time. I haven't even considered the emotional impact it has had on me because it feels impossible to understand. I take baby steps years after in even acknowledging that it happened, and can really only handle thinking about it in small bits. Not because I get overwhelmed thinking about it, but because I know in the long term thinking about it drags me down in ways I don't always realize."

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Survivor #16

Type of Aggie currently: Undergraduate Classification/age at time: 17 years old Location of crime: High school party Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "I felt

Survivor #15

Type of Aggie currently: Undergraduate Classification/age at time: Freshman Location of crime: My apartment Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "I invited him ov

Survivor #14

Type of Aggie currently: Classification/age at time: 6 & 18 years old Location of crime: Family's house & Boyfriend's house Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "

bottom of page