top of page
  • aestatamu

Survivor #6

Type of Aggie currently: Staff

Classification/age at time: Freshman Undergrad

Location of crime: On-campus

Was the crime reported: No

Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "Mutual friends said he wouldn’t do that and I asked for it."


"As a freshman, I had made my first group of friends away from home. We all hung out all the time. Studied together, ate together, partied together, we all lived on campus together. There weren’t signs they weren’t trustworthy. They seemed to embrace me and I felt at home with them here at A&M. One night we all went to one of the boy’s dorm and had all snuck drinks in. Having not eaten that day I don’t really remember a lot of the rest. But this is what I know to be true. I was black out drunk. I was taken from that dorm room by one of the boys at the party to his Eppright dorm. He took me to the 4th floor study room. When he was done with me he left me on one of the girls in our friend groups door step. I slept on her floor and woke up with no memory but dozens of bruises covering my body. Between my legs, on my arms, and as if that wasn’t bad enough a bruise the size of a baseball on my neck. I begged her to tell me what happened and she said “Oh he knocked and left you here. I think y’all had sex. I’ll go talk to him” when she came back she said “he said if you don’t remember to not tell you anything happened.” That didn’t sit right with me. I reached out to him. To the other boys in our group. Every response was the same “he would never do that. You’re crazy.” Shortly after that they kicked me out of the friend group for causing drama. I can’t tell you why I decided to stay on this campus after that. It never felt like home again. I graduated in Dec 2020 but honestly am embarrassed to be associated with a school that turns it’s back on victims. I knew if I spoke up that the university would respond the same way my “Aggie family” had. The more stories I hear on this campus the more I know that to be true. It took me a long time to accept it wasn’t my fault. It took me a long time to even accept it happened. This university failed me and hundreds of others. When I tried to reach out to orgs to do more in the fight against sexual assault I was told that I could not campaign because the university would take funding from any major org that supported me. They promise change but never let survivors enforce it. My rapist and his defenders all graduated never thought they were wrong for my assault. I was covered in bruises which means even black out drunk I fought him. Being black out drunk automatically means I could not consent. Being an Aggie doesn’t mean you automatically embody the values that are pushed on us as students. This campus loves to turn a blind eye to its mistakes and because of that people like me got hurt. I hope one day that changes."




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Survivor #16

Type of Aggie currently: Undergraduate Classification/age at time: 17 years old Location of crime: High school party Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "I felt

Survivor #15

Type of Aggie currently: Undergraduate Classification/age at time: Freshman Location of crime: My apartment Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "I invited him ov

Survivor #14

Type of Aggie currently: Classification/age at time: 6 & 18 years old Location of crime: Family's house & Boyfriend's house Was the crime reported: No Reasoning for decision to report or not report: "

bottom of page